top of page


In the midst of what has been an incredibly turbulent year for New Japan, they looked to hold their first Non-Wrestle Kingdom show at the legendary Tokyo Dome for the first time in 15 years.

Power Rankings - Top 10

1. Shingo Takagi

After winning the vacant IWGP world heavyweight title from Kazuchika Okada at Dominion, The Dragon looked set to defend the belt against Kota Ibushi in his first Dome main event but due to last minute changes, found a challenge in form of The Ace Hiroshi Tanahashi.

As determined as ever, Shingo was able to defend the title successfully thus making him the first NJPW wrestler to win their first Tokyo Dome main event since Brock Lesnar. Big things ahead for the champion.


After defeating Tomohiro Ishii on the night before the Dome show, EVIL made an emphatic statement by attacking the champion Shingo after he retained his title in a grueling match. Declaring that he’s coming for the title, EVIL now stands in the champion’s way who looks to walk into the G1 with the title.

3. Hiroshi Tanahashi

Coming off of a singles victory against KENTA the night before, on less than a day’s notice The Ace stepped up to the challenge of main eventing The Tokyo Dome as he’s done countless times before. He may have failed in his conquest of raching the top of the New Japan mountain but a resurgence for The Ace is always looming on the horizon.

4. Dangerous Tekkers

Taichi and Zack Sabre Jr have been near the top of the Heavyweight tag team division for more than a year now. After working hard for nearly 6 months they finally won back the titles from G.o.D, they lost them in the first defense itself to Naito and SANADA. Finding themselves in the semi-main event of the Dome they won back the titles in the rematch.

Before the show, both of them faced both Naito and SANADA in singles competition in Osaka on separate occasions. Taichi going 1-1 and Zack going 0-1-1. They now look towards the future with new challengers.

5. Jay White

The Switchblade started off his year in an unsuccessful challenge for the IWGP double titles at Wrestle Kingdom 15. Being one of the Key players of New Japan, he wouldn’t stay down for long though as he challenged The Ace for the NEVER Opwenweight title and defeated him. Jay challenged David Finlay for his first title defense at NJPW Resurgence.

Sending shockwaves throughout the wrestling world, Jay showed up at IMPACT’s Slammiversary event and confronted Kenny Omega. No one knows what he plans to do but one thing is for sure that the whole wrestling world has their eyes on Jay.

6. Kazuchika Okada

Okada’s year represents exactly what NJPW is going through currently. The Original Tokyo Dome main event was supposed to be him going at it against Will Ospreay all the way back in May but things happened with Will’s injury, Okada getting COVID and the event itself getting deferred.

Upon return the Rainmaker faced the current champion Shingo for the vacant title in a losing effort. Hoping to gain back some momentum he faced the United empire’s Imperial unit in Jeff Cobb. Okada defeated Cobb and now looks to set his sight on the future.

7. Kota Ibushi

The Golden Star was set to face Shingo at The Dome after a victory against Jeff Cobb at Dominion to win back the title he lost I his first defense. Unfortunately, he couldn’t make it due to an untimely illness. Nonetheless Ibushi stays one of the top dogs the NJPW food chain as he’s still owed that title match when he comes back.

8. Tetsuya Naito

The leader of LIJ started the year as IWGP double champion. Losing the titles at Wrestle Kingdom couldn’t slow down Naito at all even though he has had a mixed bag of a year. With SANADA, Naito beat Dangerous Tekkers to win the IWGP Heavyweight tag team titles. Naito and SANADA lost the titles in the first defense which was a rematch against Taichi and SANADA but they’re not going down so easily.

9. Tom Lawlor

The STRONG Openweight champion has been on an absolute roll ever since winning the inaugural title. With title defenses against the likes of Chris Dickinson, Satoshi Kojima and Karl Fredericks, The leader of team Filthy is as dominant as ever and has established a firm foothold over NJPW Strong as he looks for new challengers.

10. Robbie Eagles

The newly crowned IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion was out of action ever since the BOSJ last year. Returning two weeks before the event, he laid out the challenge for the then champion El Desperado and successfully defeated him to become the first ever champion from Australia. No rest for the weary though as he was challenged by Hiromu Takahashi who has been cleared for an in-ring return.


1. Los Ingobernables de Japon

With Shingo holding the IWGP world heavyweight championship, LIJ find themselves at the top of the NJPW mountain with Naito and SANADA looking to gain back their tag team titles as well as Hiromu’s return who challenges Robbie Eagles soon to win back the Jr heavyweight title he never lost.

2. Bullet Club

With their leader Jay making waves as the NEVER openweight champion, EVIL challenging for the IWGP world heavyweight championship and ELP and Ishimori retaining their jr tag titles, all looks good for the most controversial faction in Pro wrestling.


Lead by Kazuchika Okada, CHAOS had a good time at Wrestle Grand Slam. With Okada beating Cobb, Robbie winning the jr heavyweight title and the trio of Ishii, Yoshi-Hashi and Goto already having a fruitful reign with the NEVER 6 man tag team titles, the future looks good for the faction.

4. Suzuki Gun

Dangerous Tekkers won the tag team titles back from LIJ and now look to challenge for the NEVER 6 man titles with Minoru Suzuki. It hasn’t been all good though with El Deperado losing the jr heavyweight title at the Tokyo Dome.

5. Team Filthy

Under the leadership of Filthy Tom Lawlor as the STRONG Openweight Champion Team Filthy is at the top of the STRONG Food chain.

6. NJPW Main Unit

The main unit hasn’t had a good year at all other than Kota Ibushi winning the IWGP double titles and Tanahashi winning the NEVER openweight title. They’ll surely be looking to change that as the G1 approaches.

7. United Empire

The United Empire has had an incredible fall from the top in the recent months. They looked set to dominate NJPW with Will Ospreay as the IWGP world heavyweight champion but he got injured and had to vacate the title meanwhile Jeff Cobb has had to deal with two consecutive losses to Ibushi and Okada.


Los Ingobernables de Japon

1. Shingo Takagi

2. Tetsuya Naito


4. Hiromu Takahashi

5. Bushi

Bullet Club


2. Jay White


4. Taiji Ishimori

5. El Phantasmo

6. Chase Owens

7. Yujiro Takahashi

8. Tama Tonga

9. Tanga Loa

10. Gedo

11. Jado


1. Kazuchika Okada

2. Robbie Eagles

3. Tomohiro Ishii

4. Hirooki Goto

5. Yoshi-Hashi

6. Toru Yano

7. SHO

8. Rocky Romero

9. YOH

Suzuki Gun

1. Taichi

2. Zack Sabre Jr

3. Minoru Suzuki

4. El Desperado

5. Yoshinobu Kanemaru

6. Douki

NJPW Main Unit

1. Hiroshi Tanahashi

2. Kota Ibushi

3. David Finlay

4. Juice Robinson

5. Satoshi Kojima

6. Yuji Nagata

7. Ryusuke Taguchi

8. Tomoaki Honma

9. Hiroyoshi Tenzan

10. Master Wato

United Empire

1. Will Ospreay’

2. Jeff Cobb

3. Great-O-Khan

4. Aaron Henare

Team Filthy

1. Tom Lawlor

2. Danny Limelight

3. JR Kratos

Thumbnail Credit: New Japan Pro Wrestling


bottom of page